No. 4: Props

Considering I’m a magazine editor, I’m surprised that I can so easily forget about what probably went on behind the scenes of articles I read for fun. I take off the “editor” hat too easily sometimes (unless, of course, I see a typo). I need to remember that every written word comes from somewhere, and someone put blood, sweat and (sometimes literal) tears into getting those words in front of me.

I realized this when I was editing an article that my coworker went through hell to write. It was one of those experiences that was a challenge from beginning to end.

As I was editing, it dawned on me that our audience would never know what she went through to get those words in print. Mainly, because it was a great story. She faced every challenge head-on, and she soldiered through to get the story on paper.

No one was going to be the wiser. But she and I were.

I believe in taking the good with the bad…I like to complain, but my policy is that if I don’t point out all the good stuff, too, I forfeit my right to bitch. So while I didn’t hesitate to chime in about what a struggle this story was, I jumped all over the opportunity to email everyone above me on the masthead about how this girl very gracefully turned a tough situation into a well-researched, well-written piece of work for our readers. I hope it goes in her “permanent file.” She deserves it.

Maybe later down the list, I’ll remember to send some props as a consumer, too.

Leave a comment